Sēļi Manor got its name from Kaspars Ziborgs von Vislingens, lord of Sēlpils. He had received it as a gift from King Augusts Sigismunds in 1563. Ownership of the manor changed hands several times over the years with the last owners up to agrarian reforms in 1922 being descendents of Baron Kārlis J. H. von Engelhardt.
In 1970 the collective farm "Ziemeļi" added a second story dramatically changing the visual appearance of the building. At present the manor houses the municipal government of Sēļi Parish, the library, two halls for various cultural events, a post office, a doctor's assistant's office and a shop.
Two barns still remain standing on the property. Historically, there had been a winter garden next to the manor, but only one brick wall remains as testimony of its existence.
The left wing of the manor houses an exhibition hall behind which is a small open-air stage and childrens' playground.
The area surrounding the Manor is especially romantic because of the large, picturesque pond with its Island of Love. Inspired by old photographs of the place, a lovely pergola was built on the island which could be reached by crossing the waterlily-covered pond on a small foot bridge.
Mazsalacas novada pašvaldība